The Mix Tape

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mix Tape.”

So, this is my first post in months and my sister suggested me to try “The Daily Posts” to find some motivation and inculcate the habit of writing again. So, I am gonna do myself some good and write this post.

The Mix Tape. Well, Mix Tapes bring back the memories of childhood and oh, the nostalgia. I remember the time when Cassettes and CD players were a rage, all I see right now is people with their fancy Ipods and Smartphones and their Beats plugged in their ears. I mean..what happened to the days when listening to music didn’t come with a pre requisite of owning a cool gadget and an expensive pair of earphones. Anyway, not getting carried away and not getting too cynical about the world and getting back to the original theme of the post, this post aims at putting together a musical playlist of songs that describe my life, including what you hope your future entails.This question is too complex. So, in lieu of a discourse on music and my life, I’m just going to do a Top 10 list of songs that I love and hold a significant spot in my life and my smartphone(Crap! This world has sucked me in too! Haha!). Be it their lyrics or the music, these are the songs that define me.

So, here we go :

Number 10 : Everytime You Walk Away by Lincoln Hawks

Heard this one in a popular TV Series and have been hooked to it since then. The lyrics and the way the Vocalist has sung it is Aww.

(Yes, I am a guy and I occasionally write “Aww”.)

Number 9 : Fade to Black by Metallica

Yes, we have all been there. Done that. 😀

Number 8 : For the First Time by The Script

This is such a popular number by such a popular band. Love their music and specially the concept of this video.

Number 7 : Quit Playing Games With My Heart by Backstreet Boys

Indian kids will agree with me when I say Backstreet Boys deserve a place on their Top 10 list cause most of them start with Backstreet Boys and Bryan Adams. #JustIndianThings

Number 6 : All My Loving by The Beatles

People rave about Hey Jude and other Beatle songs but this Paul McCartney takes it away for me. Take a bow, legend!

Number 5 : Rockstar by Nickelback

‘Cause we all just wanna be big rockstars
And live in hilltop houses, drivin’ fifteen cars

And I rest my case!

Number 4 : 505 by Arctic Monkeys

I fell in love with this one as soon as I heard it and that was 3 and a half years back. Any day. Any time. I am going back to 505.

Number 3 : Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd

Only one word comes to my mind when I think of this song – Genius. My most favourite band.

Number 2 : High Hopes by Pink Floyd

Highly under rated but the riff that starts from 4:42 second till the end is enough to blow you away. Thank you, Sir David Gilmore, I don’t know what millions of folks would have done if it wasn’t for you and your compositions.

Number 1 : Jugni by Arif Lohar and the Coke Studio Pakistan Team

I know what you all are thinking. A guy so deep into Classic Rock and Alternate ranks a folk song as his #1 but let me tell you people, this one deserves to be on top. Amazing Amazing song. Arif Lohar with this magical voice, his chimta, the spellbounding music and the essence of the song. I remember it was continuously on repeat for more than a month after I had discovered it.

So, this ends my Top 10. These songs might or might not reflect my life but they are an integral part of my life. Finishing off with a Harry Potter quote(So awesome, right? :’D), Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone said,””Ah, music! A magic beyond all we do here!”

Thanks for reading.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “The Mix Tape

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

